Stephen Metcalfe

Stephen Metcalfe was first elected as the Member of Parliament (MP) for South Basildon and East Thurrock in 2010. He remains passionate about promoting science, technology, and engineering in South Basildon and East Thurrock.
He began his political career as a District Councillor for Epping Forest where he was portfolio holder for Customer Services, ICT & E-government. As a Councillor for five years, he campaigned on an array of issues including green belt protection and engaging young people in politics. Prior to chairing the APPG AI, Stephen has served as the chairman of the Science and Technology Select Committee.